Have you already mastered the art of heating, ventilation, and conditioning services? Working in this field over the years has definitely made you realize how much people need them and how important it is for households as well as for businesses. So, why not start your own HVAC business?
Congratulations if you’ve already made this decision. You’ve done the most important step. Now what? What comes next?
Starting your own HVAC business in New Jersey comes with lots of work, effort, time, and the necessary steps. If you feel confused on what documentation you need to complete or what steps this process requires, you’re at the right place.
In fact, we’ve gathered all the demands in one place for everyone who plans on building a HVAC business in the state of New Jersey. Let’s go over those!
Education and experience requirements for getting a HVAC license in New Jersey
It’s completely possible to acquire a HVAC degree from college. However, you still need to have some experience to get the license. Depending on the school you choose to attend, you will have to complete a four-year bachelor’s degree in the HVAC field. This is where it all begins. Let us note that these types of courses cover both residential and commercial HVAC services.
How much experience do you need to have to acquire the New Jersey HVAC license? While education matters the most, you will also need an experience of 3 years to obtain this license. However, if you’ve already completed a vocational training program, the experience requirement comes down to 2 years. So, make sure to start working as an apprentice when you’re making your first steps in this industry. This will ensure you’re qualified enough to get the HVAC license and start your own business. Note that this type of apprenticeship gains you 5 years of working experience.
How to apply for the New Jersey HVAC license?
Your next step is to fill in the HVAC license application after paying the $100 required fee. Once the board approves your application, you will be informed to take the necessary exams.
The next step includes 2 types of exams: the trade test and the business test. During the first exam you will be tested from ducts and ventilation to heating and cooling principles. For the second test, a few topic are covered, including:
- Risk management
- Contract law
- Tax law
- Estimating and bidding
- Business organization
- Project management
- Lien law
How do you get ready for these exams? While your college will teach you most of it, you can also practice on your own on the HVAC career website.
How much does it cost to acquire a New Jersey HVAC license?
While applying for this license, you will need to show proof of liability insurance that comes with a $3,000 guarantor bond. This does not include the $100 application fee mentioned above. As for the bond, it works as a guarantee that you will operate your HVAC business in compliance with state rules and regulations of New Jersey.
How long does it take to get a New Jersey HVAC license?
If we consider the educational path you have to take, the whole process will take about 5 years. If you’re willing to start your own HVAC contractor business, you will have to get patience and the necessary experience. Everything else will come with time.
Note that one you apply, it may take a month for the board to approve your application. After that, you must receive your HVAC license in 15-20 days.